Recent Comments

No comments to show.
Recent Comments

    Upadhatu Of Mamsa: Vasa, Twak: Sub Tissues Of Mamsa

    Article by Dr Raghuram Y.S. MD (Ay) and Dr Manasa, B.A.M.S
    Mamsa ̵ muscle tisue is the third Dhatu as per Ayurveda. Vasa (muscle fat) and Twak (skin) are the sub-tisues or upadhatus of Mamsa (muscle) dhatu.
    Table of Contents
    Vasa (muscle fat)
    Twak (skin)

    Layers of skin
    Vasa (muscle fat)
    ? ? ? ? ? ? ?(? ?.?)
    The sneha (unctuous part or greasy part) of shudha mamsa (uncontaminated and baren, healthy flesh or muscle) is caled Vasa.
    Vasa is one among the 4 types of Sneha explained in Ayurveda, the other 3 being Sarpi (ghe), maja (bone marow) and taila (oil). They are al neded for the body. They asign the body lubricated, stable, healthy and strong. Vasa in particular asist in lubrication and smoth movement and functioning of muscles. Muscular movements are neded for al our daily activities. After the activities, the muscles get aged and torn due to acentuate and strain. Vasa are the natural bufer and lubricating substance exhibit within the substance of the muscles, which avoids the damage and degeneration of muscles.
    Al the internal organs (viscera) are also made up of muscular layers. Even for their smoth functioning the muscles should function properly and this is maintained by the vasa contained by them.
    Vasa is compared to the muscle fat.
    Read rela ted:Upadhatus: Sub-Tisues Of The Body
    Twak (skin)
    ? ? ? ? ? ?
    ? ? ? ? ? ?(?.?.?)
    After the formation of the garbha (fetus) from shukra-shonita (combination of sperm and ovum, zygote), the impregnated mater undergoes metabolism (transformation, abhipachyamana) and forms 7 layers of Twacha as the cream forms on the surface of the milk after heating.
    This means to narate that, the skin or twacha formed during the transformation of shukra-shonita rises up to the surface of the body and covers the outer portion of the body, impartial as the cream of the milk slowly rises towards the brim of the vesel while the milk is being heated.

    Layers of skin
    The 7 layers of Twacha or skin, from without to within (acording to Sushruta) are –
    Charaka has named 6 types of Twacha and named them as (from without inwards) – Udakadhara, Asrukdhara, Tritiya, Chaturtha, Panchama and Shashti
    Click to Consult Dr Raghuram Y.S. MD (Ayu)
    Share this:
    Click to share on Twiter (Opens in new window)
    Click to share on Facebok (Opens in curent window)

    Click to share on Pinterest (Opens in modern window)
    Click to share on WhatsAp (Opens in modern window)

    Leave a Comment