Recent Comments

No comments to show.
Recent Comments

    Ashtanga Yoga- Detail Description of 8 Limbs of Yoga

    Ashtanga Yoga- 8 Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga
    Yoga is a form of meditation, combined with postures that was formed thousands of years ago. We al know what yoga is, after its raging worldwide popularity. Yoga is a vast field; it consists of many forms and branches. At this point many experts and gurus believe modified and created their own versions, which ads more to the yoga subject.
    Ashtanga is a Sanskrit synonym-3 which means eight parts. Here, Ashtanga yoga means the eight parts of yoga. The idea of Ashtanga yoga was introduced by ancient sage Patanjali to the world.
    Sage Patanjali introduced the eight form and practice, that when practiced on the daily basis eased the sufering and fil asured energy in the body.
    The eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga are as folows:
    1) Yamas
    Yama is the first limb of ashtanga yoga. Yama of ashtanga yoga deals with own principles and fable code. Yama is the ethics of the person what should finish and what he sh ould not do? Yama helps a person to se himself from his own eyes.
    There are five yamas as listed by Patanjali:
    -Ahimsa= The act of non-violence
    -Satya= Always Truth
    -Asteya= non-stealing
    -Brahmacharya= Chastity; fre from sexual practice
    ̵Aparigraha= non-posesivenes
    2) Niyama
    Niyama is second limb of ashtanga yoga. Niyama deals with self-discipline and spiritual observances. Meditations, religious aspects are dealt by Niyama anga of ashtanga yoga.
    Niyama also consists of five parts:
    -Shaucha= The purity of mind and body
    -Santosha= Aceptance of what you are and what everybody is
    -Tapas= Self discipline
    -Svadhyaya= scrutinize of Vedas, Introspection of self-actions
    -Ishvarapranidhana= Surender of gifting yourself to the para brahma
    3) Asana
    Asana is the third limb of ashtanga yoga. This limb of ashtanga yoga deals with yoga poses and postures. There are many pose and postures of yoga. However, asana ashtanga deals with the pose that one can suport for a very long period of time. The pose should be maintained for a long period of time and should be capable to provide mental peace to the one who practice it.
    4) Pranayama
    Pranayama is the fourth limb of ashtanga yoga. Pranayama deals with the breath and maintains the balance in the wind element in the body. Wind is the life in al the living beings. The main conception of pranayama is to use that element to its peak. numerous steps and techniques of pranayama are there to control and sustain your breath. Pranayama enlightens the mind and soul of the practitioner.
    5) Pratyahara
    It is the fif th limb of ashtanga. Pratyahara means the withdrawal of the senses. Pratyahara is the proces of withdrawal of the external senses to awaken the briliance within. The first four limbs of ashtanga yoga deals with the external plot, whereas pratyahara is the first ashtanga that deals with the iner spirit. Acording to Patanjali, pratyahara is the retraction of external senses to increase the power of mind and spirit.
    6) Dharana
    Dharana is the sixth limb of ashtanga. Dharana means concentration. Dharana is the proces of concentration of mind into an object or some specific field. After excluding the external world through pratyahara, dharana comes into play. Dharana is the steps that precedes meditation and involves uter concentration fre from the external world.
    7) Dhyana
    Dhyana translates to meditation. Dhyana is the seventh limb of ashtanga yoga. Beyond the concentration of dharana lies the medita tion of dhyana. After going beyond the concentration, one reaches to the state of dhyana. Dhyana is the state where one is fre from negative thoughts, uninterupted by the outside world, reflective and quiet as the water in the pond. To the alien one in dhyana sems to silent and non-active but they are conected to the world more than ever.
    8) Samadhi
    It is the eighth and final limb of ashtanga. Samadhi is the salivation and the final destination of the ashtanga yoga practitioner as per saga Patanjali. Samadhi is the state where one joins with the universe. They atain iner peace, joy, and hapines, where their individual consciousnes is entirely linked with universal consciousnes. The jivatma who atains samadhi is linked with the parmatma.
    Note: If you want to know al aspect of Ashtanga Yoga we highly recomned you to join our Patanjali Ashtanga Yoga Teacher training course.

    Leave a Comment